

### CRUCIAL TESTS - THE FLOOD OF IMAGES April 19, 2024, Berlin

#### 11:00 - 11:15: OPENING

Ulrike Becker, Curator, House of Documentary Film

Dr. Leonard Novy, Director, Institute for Media and Communication Policy

#### 11:15 - 13:00: SPOTLIGHT MIDDLE EAST \*

IMPULSE: Dan Pe'er, Regisseur (#Nova, yes Docu, Kastina Communications) (tbc)

Mohammad Abu Saif, journalist and ARD employee in Gaza

Richard C. Schneider, SPIEGEL author and former ARD correspondent in Israel

Danna Stern, Executive Producer, Supernova: The Music Festival Massacre

Dima Tarhini, Head of Talk Shows Unit and Senior Host, Deutsche Welle

Moderator: Dr. Lidia Averbukh, Bertelsmann Stiftung

(\* in English language)

13:00 - 14:00: LUNCH

# 14:00 - 15:00: THE FLOOD OF IMAGES - DISINFORMATION IN THE REAL TIME AGE

IMPULSE: Prof. Dr. Steffen Siegel, Professor for Theory and History of Photography, Folkwang University of the Arts

Dr. Sergey Lagodinsky, Member of the European Parliament, The Greens/EFA

Dr. Peter Ptassek, Commissioner for Strategic Communication and Public Diplomacy, Federal Foreign Office

Moderator: Dörthe Eickelberg, Journalist

#### 15:00 - 15:15: COFFEE BREAK

### 15:15 - 16:00: LAST BASTION? DOES JOURNALISM HAVE TO DEFEND DEMOCRACY?

Christian Mihr, Journalist, Deputy Secretary General, Amnesty International

Klaus Siekmann, NDR Legal Department

Gabriela Sperl, Film and Television Producer

Heike Raab, Representative of the State of Rhineland-Palatinate to the Federal Government and for Europe and the Media

Moderator: Steffen Grimberg, Head, KNA Media Service

#### 16:00 - 16:15: COFFEE BREAK

# 16:15 - 17:00: IRRECONCILABLE? CAN SOCIAL CONVERSATION BE SAVED?

Björn Böhning, CEO, Production Alliance

Sham Jaff, Journalist and Senior Advisor, Bonn Institute

Awet Tesfaiesus, Member of the Bundestag, Alliance 90/The Greens

	Michael Thumann, Foreign Policy Correspondent for ZEIT
	Moderator: Jenni Zylka, Journalist
17:00:	End of the Colloquium
17:00	Admission to the Award Ceremony

### AWARD CEREMONY

18:00 - 18:15:	WELCOME
18:15 - 18:30:	<b>ROMAN BRODMANN SPEECH</b> Fritz Frey, 1st Editor-in-Chief SWR
18:30 - 18:50:	<b>AWARD CEREMONY &amp; LAUDATIO</b> Jury: Melanie Andernach, Producer Andrew Bird, Film Editor Ulrich Stein, Producer and Director
18:50 - 20:30:	<b>SCREENING</b> Award-winning film
20:30 - 20:45:	FILM DISCUSSION Director of the award-winning film
20:45 - 22:30:	Closing with snacks and drinks









